Skip to content
nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Go to the Department of Public Instruction Home Page
About DPI Kirsten Baesler's Homepage DPI Contact Information DPI Employment opportunities DPI News DPI Forms Search the DPI website


Programs and Services
21st Century Community
   Learning Centers

Academic Standards
Adult Education & Literacy,
   GED Services,
   Displaced Homemakers,
   ELCivics

Assessment
Child Nutrition & Food Distribution
Credentialing/Paraprofessional
Early Childhood Education
English Language
    Learner Programs

Federal Title Programs
Fiscal Management
Human Resources
Information, Communications &
   Research

Management Information Systems
Native American Education
Safe & Healthy Schools
School Counselor Programs
School Finance & Organization
Section 504
Special Education
Supplemental Programs
Teacher and Sch Effectiveness
Testing & Assessment
Title 1 Programs
ND Vision Services/
    Sch for the Blind

ND Sch for the Deaf/Resource
    Center for Deaf and
    Hard of Hearing

ND State Library
Resources
Grants
State Standards
Education Legislation
Administrative Rules
Links
Frequently Asked Questions

Technical Assistance

Ryan Townsend
Phone: (701) 328-2629
Fax (701) 328-0201
Email: srtownsend@nd.gov

Request Form | Child Nutrition and Food Distribution Programs | School Health & Adult Education |
Special Education | Standards and Achievement | Teacher and School Effectiveness
| Federal Title Programs Unit

(updated 7/31/2013)

Title

Contact

Resources

Request Form
  Top

Training Assistance Request Form

Child Nutrition and Food Distribution Programs   Top

Child Nutrition Programs

Sanitation and Safety

Kaye Knudson
ksknudson@nd.gov
701-328-2275

 

Food Allergies and Special Dietary Accommodations

Deb Egeland
degeland@nd.gov 
701-328-3718

 

NDFoods – Claims and Renewals

Carla Wardzinski cwardzinski@nd.gov
701-328-2319

 

NDFoods – USDA Foods Surveys

Rene Gonzalez
rmgonzalez@nd.gov
701-328-2732

 

School Nutrition Programs

New Meal Patterns for Schools

Joe Oster
jjoster@nd.gov
701-328-3237

 

Certification for extra 6 cents reimbursement

Shayna Griffiths
sgriffiths@nd.gov
701-328-3549

 

Paid Lunch Equity

Deb Egeland
degeland@nd.gov 
701-328-3718

 

Free and Reduced Price Meals

Kaye Knudson
ksknudson@nd.gov
701-328-2275

 

Direct Certification

Linda Schloer
lkschloer@nd.gov
701-328-4565

 

Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program

Kaye Knudson
ksknudson@nd.gov
701-328-2275

 

School Breakfast Program

Deb Egeland
degeland@nd.gov 
701-328-3718

 

Local Wellness Policies

Deb Egeland
degeland@nd.gov 
701-328-3718

 

USDA Foods (Commodities)

Rene Gonzalez
rmgonzalez@nd.gov
701-328-2732

 

Healthier US School Challenge

Deb Egeland
degeland@nd.gov 
701-328-3718

 

Child and Adult Care Food Program

Application for new Child Care Center

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Annual Mandatory Training

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Outside School Hours Programs

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

For-Profit Centers

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Family Child Care Home Sponsoring Organizations

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Meal Requirements in CACFP

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Infant Feeding

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

At-Risk Meals

Stacie Morowski
smorowski@nd.gov
701-788-8901

 

Summer Food Service Program

Becoming a SFSP Sponsor

Kaye Knudson
ksknudson@nd.gov
701-328-2275

 

Annual SFSP Training

Kaye Knudson
ksknudson@nd.gov
701-328-2275

 
School Health & Adult Education   Top

Title IV - Safe & Drug Free Schools

Lockdown Drills

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Bullying

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Truancy & Drop Out Prevention

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Crisis Management

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Youth Risk Behaviors (alcohol, drugs, suicide, etc)

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

School Health

   

Emergency & School Health Guidelines for Educators

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Immunization Requirements

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Reportable Diseases

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Safe Schools

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Playground Safety

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

CSH

   

Coordinated School Health (School Health Councils, Health & Academics

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

Deb Pilon
dpilon@nd.gov
701-328-2753

 

Physical Activity

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

 

Nutrition

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

 

Tobacco

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

 

Health Education

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

Deb Pilon
dpilon@nd.gov
701-328-2753

 

HIV / AIDS

   

HIV / AIDS Prevention

Deb Pilon
dpilon@nd.gov
701-328-2753

 

Sexuality Education

Deb Pilon
dpilon@nd.gov
701-328-2753

 

YRBS

   

Making Data Driven Decisions for School Improvement using the YRBS

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

 

YRBS Overview

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

Gail Schauer
gschauer@nd.gov
701-328-2265

 

Adult Education

   

Adult Education Services

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Adult Education and its Impact upon the ND Economy

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

GED Services

   

The 2014 GED series

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Computer-based GED testing

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

ELCivics

   

Preparing New American Adults for the Citizenship Test

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 

Displaced Homemakers

   

Displaced Homemaker Program

Valerie Fischer
vfischer@nd.gov 
701-328-4138

 
Special Education   Top

Special Education State Performance Plan Annual Performance Report (SPP/APR)

Steve Bourgois
stebourgois@nd.gov
701-328-3426

 

Indicator Data Analysis 

Steve Bourgois   
stebourgois@nd.gov
701-328-3426

 

Data Analysis

Steve Bourgois   
stebourgois@nd.gov
701-328-3426

 

Including Students w/Disabilities in General Education

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Universal Design for Learning

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Programming for students with Autism

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Managing Students w/ Behavior Problems

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Literacy and Students with Disabilities

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Writing Standards-Based IEPs

Lynn Dodge, Ed. D.
ldodge@nd.gov
701-328-4564

 

Fall Conference/Joint Trainings

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701-857-7770

 

NDMILE Parent Involvement Tool

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701-857-7770

 

Speech- Language Pathology

Mary McCarvel-O’Connor
moconnor@nd.gov
701-328-4560

 

Speech-Language Pathology Paraprofessional Certification

Mary McCarvel-
O’Connor

moconnor@nd.gov
701-328-4560

 

Special Education Paraprofessional Certification

Mary McCarvel-O’Connor
moconnor@nd.gov
701-328-4560

 

Traineeship Scholarship

Mary McCarvel-O’Connor
moconnor@nd.gov
701-328-4560

 

IDEA Dispute Resolution Options

Bob Rutten
brutten@nd.gov
701-328-2714

 

Parent Involvement in Special Education

Bob Rutten
brutten@nd.gov
701-328-2714

 

Special Education Administrative questions

Gerry Teevens
gteevens@nd.gov
701-328-2277

 

Home Education/Special Education

Gerry Teevens
gteevens@nd.gov
701-328-2277

 

Secondary Transition Programming Questions

Gerry Teevens
teevens@nd.gov
701-328-2277

 

Programming for Students with Intellectual Disabilities

Gerry Teevens
teevens@nd.gov
701-328-2277

 

Programming for Students with Traumatic Brain Injury

Gerry Teevens
gteevens@nd.gov
701-328-2277

Toolkit for Professionals Working with students with Traumatic Brain Injury

Early Childhood Special Education

Nancy Skorheim
nskorheim@nd.gov
701-527-1384

 
Standards and Achievement   Top

National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)

Pauline Iler
pailer@nd.gov 
701-328-4518

 

North Dakota State Assessments (General)

Robert Bauer
rgbauer@nd.gov
701-328-2224

 

North Dakota Alternate Assessments (Special Education)

Doreen Strode
dstrode@nd.gov
701-298-4637

 

North Dakota Accountability System

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

Paula Gabel
pgabel@nd.gov 
701-328-2296

 

North Dakota State Content Standards

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

 

State Student Growth Models

Robert Bauer
rgbauer@nd.gov
701-328-2224

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

 

North Dakota Adequate Yearly Progress Annual Reports

Paula Gabel
pgabel@nd.gov 
701-328-2296

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
328-1838

 

Teacher of the Year Awards

Patricia Laubach
plaubach@nd.gov 
701-328-4525

 

Common Core State Standards

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

 

National Race to the Top Assessment Consortia (General)

Robert Bauer
rgbauer@nd.gov
701-328-2224

 

National Race to the Top Alternate Assessment Consortia (Special Education)

Doreen Strode
dstrode@nd.gov
701-298-4637

 

ESEA Flexibility Waiver Application

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

Patricia Laubach
plaubach@nd.gov 
701-328-4525

 

North Dakota Teacher and Principal Evaluation Models

Greg Gallagher
ggallagher@nd.gov 
701-328-1838

Patricia Laubach
plaubach@nd.gov 
701-328-4525

 

State Student Achievement Data Analysis

Paula Gabel
pgabel@nd.gov 
701-328-2296

 

Teacher and School Effectiveness

  Top

Accreditation Study

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

 

ACT/WorkKeys Statewide Testing

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

 

Alternative Education Programs

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov

 

Credentials

Bobby Jo Holle
rholle@nd.gov
701-328-4571

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

Superintendent Credential
Secondary Principal Credential
Elementary Principal Credential
Library Media Credential

School Counselor Credential

Dual Credit

Ryan Townsend
srtownsend@nd.gov
701-328-2629

 

Electronic Course Delivery

Ryan Townsend
srtownsend@nd.gov
701-328-2629

 

Home Education

Gwyn Marback
gkmarback@nd.gov
701-328-2295

 

School Counseling

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

 

Section 504

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

 

MISO3 Reporting

Annette Miller
amiller@nd.gov 
701-328-4647

PK-12 Course Codes and Descriptions

ND Scholarship Program

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

 

SEIP (State Ed Improvement Process)

 

Ryan Townsend
srtownsend@nd.gov
701-328-2629

 

Spring/Fall Calendar

Carol Harmsen
charmsen@nd.gov
701-328-2266

 

STEM Programs

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

 

Summer School

Paula McKay
pmckay@nd.gov
701-328-4563

 

Waivers of Instructional Time or Days

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

Weather Related Closings

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

Carol Harmsen
charmsen@nd.gov
701-328-2266

 

WorkKeys

Matt Strinden
mbstrinden@nd.gov
701-328-2755

Michele Burian
mlburian@nd.gov
701-328-2244

 

Title I Unit   Top

10% Set Aside for Professional Development

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

21st Century Learning Programs

Josh Sharp
jesharp@nd.gov
701-328-2285

 

Applying for SIG Funds

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Before-After School Programs

*Title I Contact Person

 

Committee of Practitioners

Lodee Arnold
laarnold@nd.gov
701-328-1876

 

Comparability Requirements

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Coordination of Student Performance Strategist and Title I

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Corrective Action and Alternative Governance

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Early Childhood Education

Tara Bitz
tbitz@nd.gov
701-328-4646

 

EdFacts Reporting for Title I

Jill Frohlich
jmfrohlich@nd.gov
328-2254

 

ELL/ESL/LEP Programming

Kerri Whipple
kwhipple@nd.gov
701-298-4638

 

ESEA Flexibility Waivers

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Fall Conference

Patty Carmichael
pcarmichael@nd.gov
701-328-3264

 

Federal Consolidated Grant Monitoring, Titles IIA, IIB, IIC

Beth Larson-Steckler
esteckler@nd.gov
701-328-3544

 

Federal Needs Assessment and Professional Development Plan Supports

Beth Larson-Steckler
esteckler@nd.gov
701-328-3544

 

Federal Title IIA, Teacher Quality Grants

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
328-2284

 

Gear Up for Kindergarten

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Homeless Children & Youth

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701- 857-7770

 

Instructional Coaching

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Loan Forgiveness Requirements

   

Migrant Education

Sandy Peterson
smpeterson@nd.gov
701-328-2170

 

NDMILE

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
328-2488

 

NDMILE – Schoolwide and Program Improvement Plan

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
328-2488

 

Neglected & Delinquent Programming

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701- 857-7770

 

New Title I Teacher Training

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

No Child Left Behind Issues

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

North Dakota Curriculum Initiative Grant

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Program Improvement

*Title I Contact Person

 

Program Improvement AYP Notification Letter and Website Reporting Requirements

*Title I Contact Person

 

Program Improvement Plan

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Program Improvement Reporting Requirements

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Response To Intervention (RTI) and Title I

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

School Choice

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
328-2284

 

School Improvement Grants (SIG)

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Schoolwide

Lodee Arnold
laarnold@nd.gov
328-1876

 

Six Types of Parent Involvement

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701- 857-7770

 

State Literacy Initiative

Lodee Arnold
laarnold@nd.gov
701-328-1876

 

Statewide System of Support (SSOS)/Title I School Support Team

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Summer School with Title I

*Title I Contact Person

 

Supplemental Educational Services

Lauri Nord
lnord@nd.gov
701-328-2282

 

Time and Effort Requirements

*Title I Contact Person

 

Title I Administrative Issues

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Title I and Title III Coordination

Kerri Whipple
kwhipple@nd.gov
701-298-4638

 

Title I Credentials

Sandy Peterson
smpeterson@nd.gov
701-328-2170

 

Title I Cooperative Agreements

Lauri Nord
lnord@nd.gov
701-328-2282

 

Title I Distinguished School Program

Lodee Arnold
laarnold@nd.gov
701-328-1876

 

Title I Fiscal Issues (Financial Reports/RFF/Budget Revisions)

Mary Neigum
mneigum@nd.gov
701-328-2281

 

Title I Fiscal Regulations

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Title I Monitoring Requirements

*Title I Contact Person

 

Title I Non-Public School Issues

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Title I Parent Involvement

Jacki Harasym
jharasym@nd.gov
701- 857-7770

 

Title I Parent Notification Requirements

*Title I Contact Person

 

Title I Private Schools

Ann Ellefson
aellefson@nd.gov
701-328-2488

 

Title I Targeted Assistance Programs

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

Title I Targeting Requirements

Laurie Matzke
lmatzke@nd.gov
701-328-2284

 

*Each Title I district has been assigned a Title I program staff member as a contact to answer questions and provide technical assistance.

     
 

*Each Title I district has been assigned a Title I program staff member as a contact to answer questions and provide technical assistance.

 

 

horizonal rule

Home    |    Programs & Services    |    Resources    |    Grants    |    State Standards    |    Education Legislation

Administrative Rules    |    Links    |    Frequently Asked Questions    |    Site Map   

This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 7.0 or higher

Get FireFox    Get Google Chrome   Get Microsoft Internet Explorer     Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Visit the Adobe website for PDF accessibility tools.

Send mail to dpi@nd.gov if you have any questions or comments.

North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Kirsten Baesler, State Superintendent
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 201
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0440
701/328-2260

Disclaimer Statement